Kronos Quartet

The KRONOS QUARTET was founded in Seattle, Washington in 1973. Since 1978 it has been based in San Francisco. The group includes David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola) and Sunny Yang (cello). In recent years, the Kronos Quartet has become one of the best known and influential quartets in the world. It has worked with many composers from all over the world, including the Americans: Terry Riley, Philip Golds and Steve Reich; Franghiz Ali-Zadeh ( Azerbaijan); Vladimir Martynov (Russia); Henryk Górecki (Poland); and the Serbian-American Alexander Vrebalov. It has also collaborated with, among others, Wu Man, Laurie Anderson, Tanya Tagaq, Mahsa Vahdat, Trevor Paglen, Van Dyke Parks, múm, Dawn Upshaw, Noam Chomsky, Tom Waits, Asha Bhosle, Taraf de Haïdouks and Howard Zinn. The quartet has performs thousands of concerts, has released over 60 recordings, collaborating with an eclectic mix of composers and performers. Over 900 compositions and arrangements have been created for the string quartet. Kronos has received over 40 awards, including the Polar Music and Avery Fisher Prizes, two of the most prestigious awards given to musicians. An integral part of the work of the Kronos Quartet is its long cooperation with many of the world's leading composers. On tour for five months in the year, Kronos regularly appears in the world’s most prestigious concert halls, clubs and festivals.